RSS
Image

Welcome, Darq!

12 Dec

Welcome, Darq!

Darq –

She is a Wysotti Indian from the planet Wysotti, in the Wysa Solar System, which is beyond the Pleiades stars (when viewed from Earth). Darq is a starfighter pilot who serves the Wysotti’s Elpocalli Space Fleet.  Her rank is Qtl-shi (a squad commander).  Currently she is on leave.

As a civilian, she was born into the Mayahi Dyn as the Princess of the Misted Moon and is the first daughter of Pyhanni of the White Grasses and the first born granddaughter of Zukaltay (currently deceased).

When Darq arrived “in stasis” last weekend, she was just another American Indian doll made in China. After her arrival, CatDressed in civilian attire, getting ready to leave for Jud's Beauty Shop for a haircut.herine sewed more proper Wysotti civilian attire and had Darq’s exceedingly long braids professionally cut so that the doll became Darq, the heroine-protagonist of Jewels of the Sky. Photos will be posted later today of the hair cutting (and Darq will have a few comments to make later on in the day).

DARQ (butting in):  Yoi, Catherine, don’t you think you ought to reiterate to people reading this blog that I am a Wysotti Indian so the doll people won’t have apoplexy thinking you maimed a designer American Indian doll by chopping off the long braids?

CATHERINE:  Considering how people skim e-mails and blog posts, maybe I should.  So: No valuable, hand-crafted, designer-made doll was maimed.  Besides, Darq, a starfighter pilot cannot have such long hair, braided or not. The ones you had originally wouldn’t even fit inside your flightsuit.

DARQ: Right.  Nor would those braids meet regs.  Okay, enough said.

CATHERINE breathes a sigh of relief.

DARQ:  Yoi–you who are reading this:  Catherine’s day didn’t go according to plan–and she has lots more photos to post, but I want to encourage you to ask me a question or two.  After all, I’m on leave (translation: I’m bored)–and this is  the official book launch day for JEWELS OF THE SKY!

Click here to read an excerpt from the book.

***go to the menu bar and see the pictorial log of “the haircut”***

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Welcome, Darq!

  1. April Welles

    December 12, 2012 at 11:44 PM

    Greetings and Salutations, Darq (I assume I am pronouncing your name correctly, /Dark/ ?).
    Welcome to Earth, you will find this planet both boring and exciting. It depends upon where you go. 😉
    How long does it normally take for you to travel from Wysotti to Earth? I assume you are able to travel further than from your home planet to your moon (as we on Earth are currently only able to do). What’s the furthest you can travel (as in light year distance)? How long does that take? What do you do for entertainment and relaxation?
    I won’t ask too many more questions, I think I gave you a few more than I anticipated.
    Thank you for your patience.

    Oh, yes, tell Catherine that her idea to start this new blog page to introduce you and other people in your recorded adventures is a very neat idea. I never thought of it.

    Namaste, Darq. :-)< (That means 'The Divine within me recognizes the Divine within you, and that we are One'.)
    April

     
    • Catherine McLean

      December 13, 2012 at 2:15 PM

      DARQ: Yes, you’ve pronounced my name correctly and thanks for the welcome to Earth. Regarding your query about traveling from Wysotti to Earth, well, I can’t elaborate on that. Military top secret stuff, you know. Besides I’m sure you wouldn’t want a visit from the Men in Black who’ll ask you to look into a light . . .
      Regarding what I do for entertainment? I didn’t come to be entertained but to unwind. I’m on leave! Okay, so I also came to visit the author, Catherine, because she promised me a chance for “rustic resuscitation.” She lives on a farm in the boonies of western Pennsylvania (she says you can’t get here from anywhere without using a parsec’s worth of dirt roads). She has Amish neighbors. They have a horse and buggy for transportation. They fascinate me.
      Anyway, I get to relax in comfy civilian wear, sleep in, no schedules to keep. Catherine assures me I’ll get to eat and drink and be merry because “tiz the season.” I have no idea what Christmas is, but Catherine has volunteered me to help decorate for it, go shopping, bake, wrap gifts, etc. Oh, and she has promised me a fishing trip to Lake Erie, provided the lake freezes over. I like to fish–funny how I can unwind with a pole in my hand . . .
      Catherine has also said we’ll have snow. Lots of snow. Don’t get that on the Dukaki (the battlestation I serve). Only it’s been raining here. Gloomy rain. And, yes, Catherine keeps telling me to be careful what I wish for or we’ll end up with a blizzard. [Darq’s voice lowers to a whisper.] Which means, when my leave is up, she might not be able to get me back to the top secret departure point near Area 51.
      [Darq’s voice goes back to normal.] And don’t worry, April, about asking too many questions. If you don’t ask, you’ll never know.

      CATHERINE: Thanks for the kudos about this blog. To my amazement, it’s offered an outlet for two of my hobbies: photography and sewing! Oh, and yes, at my age, I even get to play with a doll and no one questions that. LOL

       
  2. Todd Main

    December 13, 2012 at 3:45 PM

    So Darq I see you’re married. Can you have more than one Husband?

     
    • Catherine McLean

      December 13, 2012 at 7:25 PM

      DARQ: Yes, Todd, I’m happily married to my soul mate and one true love, Atlatl. As to your question about having more than one husband, the laws of our dyn and the laws of the nations allow it. (But, as for me, one husband is plenty!)

       
  3. Jamie

    December 18, 2012 at 4:13 PM

    Shared your blog with some doll friends of mine. They may be able to help with sourcing and/or creation of headgear.

     
    • Catherine McLean

      December 19, 2012 at 1:37 AM

      Thank you so much, Jamie, for sharing my blog!

      Have a great holiday season!

       

Leave a Reply

 
