RSS

Cookies!

18 Dec

DARQ:  Catherine has made me a new outfit.  She says I can get dirty in this blouse and culottes.  Darq-CulottesBut then she says to put on an apron and head scarf?  Really?Darq-Apron n Candy Cane

CATHERINE:  The little triangle of fabric for the head scarf is a pseudo-chef’s hat. It’s like the ones I and my 4-Hers wear.   It’s to keep your hair out of the Christmas cookies we’re going to bake.

DARQ:  Okay, if you say so.  But, I do like the little pocket on this apron. It feels weird being in such American clothes. Even weirder doing something like baking Christmas cookies.  I don’t even know what Christmas cookies are or what Christmas is about.Darq-Apron pocket detail

 

CATHERINE:  Be patient, Darq.  I’m going to introduce you to Christmas.  Now, to the kitchen.

Darq-In KitchenDARQ:  Cookie baking is awesome fun!  I didn’t even get flour on me or soil my new duds.  Catherine did.  She got flour on her, in her hair (despite her head scarf). Why she even got flour into the living room–but considering she never left the kitchen, I can’t figure out how that happened.

CATHERINE (muttering):  It happens all the time and I can’t figure out how, either! Darq-Closeup Cookie Sheet

DARQ:  No matter.  I baked cookies! Lots and lots of cookies.  And the smell has my mouth watering for a taste.  Take a closer look at my tray full of wonderful gingerbread cookies. I decorated them all by myself!

Oh, and see what’s in my pocket?  Catherine gave me a green and white candy cane, pointing out that it matched the apron’s fabric.  I stuck it in my pocket.  It’s a nice “accessory,” one Catherine said cost more than the fabric.  That sounds unbelievable.  How can a piece of candy cost more than material? But, hey, I’m Wysotti and I’m only a visitor to Earth–what do I know of such things.

And now, which do I get to try first–the gingerbread man or a lick of the peppermint candy cane?Darq-Cookie Candy Closeup

I cannot decide!  Catherine, help–which would you choose?

CATHERINE (her mouth full of cookies):  Cookeesh–an’ pass the milk.

*****Want to learn how DARQ, a Wysotti Indian, celebrates the Winter Solstice on December 21?  Then stop back  Friday. Or, better yet, stay abreast of Darq’s activities by joining or following us at Twitter where announcements of her activities are posted as they happen. (And feel free to ask Darq a question or two.)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Cookies!

  1. Jamie

    December 18, 2012 at 4:11 PM

    I want a thimble sized cookie!

     
    • Catherine McLean

      December 19, 2012 at 1:31 AM

      Hi, Jamie–
      Yeah, those are such cute cookies. See my reply to Kathy below for where they came from.
      Catherine

       
  2. Kathy Otten

    December 18, 2012 at 4:56 PM

    So cute! I can’t believe you made all her clothes. Where did you find the tiny cookies. Love the whole Darq doll idea. Happy Holidays!

     
  3. Catherine McLean

    December 19, 2012 at 1:36 AM

    Yes, Kathy, I have been sewing up a lot of clothes for Darq. I’m using old patterns, like ones from when I was a kid and had a 17″ lady doll. I do have to alter some of the pieces because of Darq’s got a very long waist and long arms.

    As to the cookies–I bought miniature tree ornaments and snipped off the gold cords that would have been used to hang them on tiny trees. Thus the comment about the price of those “cookies.”

    Wishing you a happy holiday season, too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
