RSS

Darq has returned to Earth!

14 Sep

Hearing thuds on her kitchen porch, Catherine, who is upstairs in her sewing room, looks out the window. On the front lawn is a black helicopter, it rotors whirling silently, and four Men In Black are heading back to copter. From downstairs comes Darq’s yell of “Hi!  I’m back! ” and Catherine joyfully heads downstairs, meeting  Darq in the kitchen, giving her a welcoming hug. Breaking the hug, Catherine says, “Nobody warned me you were coming today!” Then Catherine notices the bag Darq is holding—

IMG_4135 2015 Sept 15 use

CATHERINE: “Shoes? Oh, please don’t tell me those thuds I heard were your MIBs dropping off boxes of shoes.”

DARQ: “They dropped off my trunks. The only shoes I bought are sandals, which are in my bag–and the ones I’m wearing.”

CATHERINE, studying the bag: “You bought more sandals?”

DARQ nods: “What can I say?  Would have been here sooner, but the weather didn’t cooperate, so I spent an afternoon at a mall in San Antonio.” She looks down at her sandals. “A woman can never have too many sandals.”

CATHERINE: “I don’t own any sandals.”

DARQ: “You don’t go anywhere where you can wear them, now do you?”

CATHERINE: “Right. So, how long will you be on Earth this time?”

DARQ:  “Until spring or so. The usual winter-time round of diplomatic visits and parties. Oh, and I need you to sew me a costume for a Halloween party next month.”

CATHERINE: “Okay, so what kind of costume do you need?”

DARQ:  “The theme is medieval, knights and ladies kind of thing. I thought you might be able to make me something like you sewed for your daughter.”

CATHERINE:  “That was a child’s costume–“

DARQ:  “I realize that. Okay, what I need is something elegant but classy enough to stand out without going overboard on the bling.”

CATHERINE:  “And with headpiece and slippers?”

DARQ: “Slippers?  No, shoes to match.”

CATHERINE:  “Medieval ladies’ shoes were called slippers.”

DARQ:  “Oh, okay, great.  Slippers it is. And you might be thinking about what to make me for Christmas and New Years and Valentines Day and–“

CATHERINE: “Already thought about you needing outfits for those parties you get invited to. Let’s get your stuff inside and up to the guest room. Then we can have a cup of tea, and you can look over the copies of outfits I collected over the summer. See what you like.”

DARQ: “Sounds like a plan.  And, hey, Catherine, it’s good to be back!”

CATHERINE: “Yes, it certainly is nice that you can visit with me again.”

**Darq and Catherine answer all comments, so feel free to converse!**

**Connect with Catherine or follow this blog to keep abreast of Darq’s activities and to see her new outfits, with shoes (or other footwear) as well as participating in the anniversary of the publication of JEWELS OF THE SKY in December.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 14, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
