RSS

I have returned!

01 Oct

 

img_5169-2016-oct-1-00

CATHERINE: Welcome back to the farm, Darq!

DARQ: It’s good to be back to visit you, Catherine.

CATHERINE: Looks like you’re traveling light. Only the trunk?

DARQ: Yes, they have put a limit on me.

CATHERINE: Why?

DARQ’s cheeks flush: Too many shoes.

CATHERINE chuckles and looks at Darq’s feet: I’m guessing there’s a new pair of shoes somewhere under those bell bottoms.

DARQ: There sure are. (She drops her purse on the floor next to the trunk, then takes off her hat, placing it on the floor with her purse.  A second later, she lifts up her pant legs to reveal her shoes):img_5176-2016-oct-1-shoes-hat-purse

CATHERINE: Not too fancy. Certainly not as fancy as your pants. Gad, woman, bell bottoms? Really?

DARQ: They’re called Boot Flare Pants on my world. They’re the current rage.(She drops her pant legs and shakes them so they flare wide and hide her shoes.

img_5181-2016-oct-1-darq-balloons-vtcl

CATHERINE hands Darq some welcome baloons: Geez, Darq, your outfit . . . 

DARQ, looking innocently at Catherine: What about my outfit?

CATHERINE: It looks familiar. I’ve seen it–oh for crying out loud, Darq! You’re wearing a Celine, a designer original. I saw the outfit in Vogue magazine a couple weeks ago.

DARQ (grinning): Okay, you got me. Yes, this is a knock-off of Celine’s design ala Vogue. I, too, saw the magazine and outfit. When I remarked how good it would look on me, the MIB liason made some connections. Now, I’m wearing it.

CATHERINE: And the bell bottom, oh, excuse me, the boot flare pants are not the rage on your planet?

DARQ: Oh, they are. That parts true. But I’m curious how you recognized these as bell bottoms.

CATHERINE: Because, my dear Darq, when I was in my early twenties, they were the rage . I sewed a number of pairs, but none with the flair yours have.

DARQ: So, bell bottoms haven’t been around all that long on your planet?

CATHERINE: Think again. If memory serves, United States navy men in 1813 first started the trend. But it wasn’t until the mid-1960’s that the pants became the rage. That was largely because of the Hippy counter culture of the day. I remember Sonny and Cher . . . a 26″ flare . . . bell bottoms were the symbol of an outlandish and colorful style.

DARQ: MX, one of the new MIB guys on my security detail called them Loon Pants.

CATHERINE giggles: They were also called Elephant Bells way back in the 1970’s. But enough about bell bottoms. You’re here for a visit. So, what’s on the agenda for this month?

DARQ: A Halloween Party with a Steampunk theme. Got any ideas on a costume for me?

CATHERINE: Never fear, I’ll come up with something!

********READERS OF THIS BLOG– What are your recollections of bell bottom pants? Your comments are welcome!

****Note to sewers: The outfit was, indeed, inspired by the Celine outfit in a recent VOGUE magazine. It’s from Celine’s winter collection 2016. I did a quick online search and  watched a model wearing the outfit strut down the runway.  Darq’s black top is crushed velour, the pants a yellow woven cotton. The purse is similar to the one in the VOGUE ad. The hat, well, that was my own idea.

****Check back on Halloween to see Darq’s steampunk costume.

# # #

 

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 1, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “I have returned!

  1. Catherine McLean

    October 2, 2016 at 5:43 AM

    I got an email from Lorna Good in Washington State who said: “Love the outfit, but I really love the hat!!”

     

Leave a Reply

 
